Find Help, Find Hope!

Take Action

NAMI Georgia is an affiliate of the National Alliance on Mental Illness, a grassroots organization dedicated to support, advocate, educate and research best practices for individuals and families affected by mental illness. Advocacy is a vital part of our mission.

GEORGIA IS FACING A CRITICAL CUT TO MENTAL HEALTH FUNDING. PLEASE ACT NOW!

CALL & EMAIL BY FRIDAY 6/26!   Budget Conference Committee

Senator Butch Miller  (404) 656-6578   butch.miller@senate.ga.gov

Senator Blake Tillery   (404) 656-0089      blake.tillery@senate.ga.gov

Senator Mike Dugan  (404) 656-7872    mike.dugan@senate.ga.gov

Representative Jan Jones    (404) 656-5072   jan.jones@house.ga.gov

Representative Terry England   (404) 463-2247 terry.england@house.ga.gov

Representative Jon Burns    (404) 656-5052   jon.burns@house.ga.gov

 

Advocates,

THANK YOU to all who wrote and called the Appropriations Committees of the Georgia General Assembly.

A quick update and a final call to action:

There are two versions of the state budget: the House version and the Senate version. Each has passed its respective house. Now, a very small group of leaders (the “Conference Committee”) gathers to reconcile the two versions into one, which will then be presented to the Governor to sign. This will all happen very quickly. Tomorrow, Friday, is likely the last day.

Additionally, the Governor has announced he is restoring $250 million to the state budget. The Conference Committee will also decide where these funds go. We ask that they go to mental health services.

 

***This is the FINAL PUSH!***

Please call and email the six legislators on the Conference Committee, below. (Note: voicemail boxes are filling as quickly as the staff can empty them, so please email, as well.)

These are almost entirely new contacts. PLEASE email and call, even if you have already reached out after earlier requests. THESE legislators haven’t yet heard from you personally yet.

THIS IS OUR FINAL OPPORTUNITY FOR INPUT

 

Cut-and-paste email (please cc advocacy@namiga.org):

 

Subject: NAMI GA – Please Restore DBHDD and ALL Mental Health Funding

 

Dear [legislator],

Thank you for your service to the State of Georgia. We ask you today: please restore funding for mental health services in DBHDD and in all other departments with mental health services.

Sincerely,

[name]

[Your Address – minimum city and zip]

[Your phone/email]

 

 

 

 

Budget Conference Committee

Senator Butch Miller  (404) 656-6578   butch.miller@senate.ga.gov

Senator Blake Tillery   (404) 656-0089      blake.tillery@senate.ga.gov

Senator Mike Dugan  (404) 656-7872    mike.dugan@senate.ga.gov

Representative Jan Jones    (404) 656-5072   jan.jones@house.ga.gov

Representative Terry England   (404) 463-2247 terry.england@house.ga.gov

Representative Jon Burns    (404) 656-5052   jon.burns@house.ga.gov

 

 

***

 

Urgent Appeal from NAMI Georgia:
YOU Can Save Mental Health Funding

 

***

NEW! Download ONE VOICE, a Georgia Advocate’s Guide to Protecting Behavioral Health Funding

NEW! Download NAMI Georgia’s FY21 State Budget One-Sheet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Become a Member

JOIN NOW

Get Involved

DONATE NOW

Get In Touch

CONTACT US